LogoStephan Kuttner Institute of Medieval Canon Law  

History   


In 1955 the Institute of Research and Study in Medieval Canon Law was registered in Washington D.C. as a 'non-stock, non profit' corporation according to US Law. The headquarters of the Institute were transferred to Yale in 1964, to Berkeley in 1970 and were relocated to Munich as of 1991. In 1964 the name of the Institute was changed to Institute of Medieval Canon Law for everyday use; in 1996 it was renamed the Stephan Kuttner Institute of Medieval Canon Law. The Institute obtained the position of an "Affiliated-Institute" of the University of Munich ("pursuant to 129 V BayHSchG [Bavarian Law on Universities] position of a scientific institution at the Ludwig-Maximilians-University, Munich") in the year 2000. 

The organisation's task as an independent institution is to promote research in the area of medieval canon law and to promote and strengthen international scholarly exchange. One focal point of the Institute is the study of the twelfth-century Decretum Gratiani and of the legal scholars who, in subsequent centuries, exepanded and commented on both this work and on collections of papal letters, as well as the study of pre-Gratian canonical collections. The publication of texts that are not yet available in print form or in critical editions and the development of research aids, such as manuscript catalogues and bibliographies, serve this goal as does regular schedule of congresses and other events. 

The form of the Institute and its research organisation is inextricably linked with the person of Stephan Kuttner (1907 - 1996). From 1955 until 1991 he was President of the Board of Directors, from 1991 until 1996 Chairman of the Board; from 1988 Editor, subsequently Editor Emeritus of the series of the Bulletin of Medieval Canon Law; from 1965 - 1991 Chief Editor of the Monumenta Iuris Canonici. The Institute bears his name since 1996.

The Institute in Munich has rooms at its disposal in co-operation with the Leopold-Wenger-Institute, in which the materials are accessible to the scholarly public thanks to the University of Munich and the Bavarian Free State.

The following persons have been able to work for the Institute in Munich thanks to our sponsors:

R. Sorice, O. Condorelli, E. Vodola,  L. Kéry, O. Vervaart, L. Fowler-Magerl, A. Hetzenecker, B. Gilcher. G. Drossbach, M. Bodenstab, J. Rau  

 


Flyer

 

Start


Home - © Jörg Müller, Update: April 2006

LogoStephan Kuttner Institute of Medieval Canon Law  

Geschichte  


1955 wurde in Washington D.C. das Institute of Research and Study in Medieval Canon Law als 'non-stock, non profit' Vereinigung  nach amerikanischem Recht registriert. Der Sitz des Institutes wurde 1964 nach Yale, 1970 nach Berkeley und ab 1991 nach München verlegt. 1964 wurde der Name des Institutes für den alltäglichen Gebrauch in Institute of Medieval Canon Law geändert, 1996 in Stephan Kuttner Institute of Medieval Canon Law. 2000 erhielt das Institut die Stellung eines "An-Instituts" an der Universität München ("nach § 129 V BayHSchG Stellung einer wissenschaftlichen Einrichtung an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität, München").

Aufgabe der Vereinigung ist es, als unabhängige Institution die Forschung auf dem Feld des mittelalterlichen kanonischen Rechts zu fördern, den internationalen Austausch zu stärken, wobei ein Schwerpunkt auf der Bearbeitung des Decretum Gratiani, der Dekretistik und der Dekretalistik sowie der vorgratianischen Kanonessammlungen liegt. Die Herausgabe bislang ungedruckter oder nicht in kritischer Edition vorliegender Texte, die Erarbeitung wissenschaftlicher Hilfsmittel in Form von Handschriftenkatalogen und Bibliographien dient ebenso diesem Ziel, wie die regelmäßige Veranstaltung von Kongressen.

Untrennbar ist die Form des Institutes und seine Forschungsorganisation mit der Person von Stephan Kuttner (1907 - 1996) verbunden. Von  1955 bis 1991 war er President des Board of Directors, von 1991 bis 1996 Chairman des Boards; bis 1988 Editor, anschließend Editor Emeritus bei  den Serien des Bulletin of Medieval Canon Law; von 1965 - 1991 Hauptherausgeber der Monumenta Iuris Canonici. Ihm zu Ehren trägt das Institut seit 1996 seinen Namen.

Das Institut verfügt in München in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Leopold-Wenger-Institut über Räume, in denen die Forschungsmaterialien zur Zeit dank der Unterstützung durch die Universität München und den Freistaat Bayern für die wissenschaftliche Öffentlichkeit zugänglich sind. 

In München konnten bislang dank Sponsoring für das Institut tätig sein:

R. Sorice, O. Condorelli, E. Vodola,  L. Kéry, O. Vervaart, L. Fowler-Magerl, A. Hetzenecker, B. Gilcher. G. Drossbach, M. Bodenstab, J. Raue 


Flyer

Start


Home -© Jörg Müller, Aktueller Stand: Oktober 2004